Neighbourhood working - information

Contents

 What is Neighbourhood Working?

We have committed ourselves to revitalise neighbourhoods and to work with local people to tackle the issues that matter to them on their doorstep. The move to an area-based management approach, with a renewed neighbourhood focus at operational level will build on the success of the previous neighbourhood management model. This approach aims to improve outcomes for local people on local issues and enhance the support for local councillors. Neighbourhood working will tackle Issues that adversely impact on people’s quality of life. The introduction of neighbourhood officers to engage with local residents will aim to improve the environment where they live and build pride within our communities. Each of the 4 areas of the city will have a neighbourhood manager to support and co-ordinate the neighbourhood officers and to look for ways of improving services to neighbourhoods across the city.  

A Neighbourhood Charter for each ward will set out local priorities and service standards that local people can expect to be delivered.

A City Neighbourhood Board including Police and Fire Services and other partners will co-ordinate our efforts and focus resources in areas of most need. The City and Neighbourhood Board will provide an intelligence-led approach for neighbourhood services to tackle problems in a strategic and co-ordinated way.

Neighbourhood working provides the framework to deliver work on...

  • Community engagement, consultation and communication, including Neighbourhood Forums and Boards
  • Neighbourhood devolved community budgets, approved at Ward committees
  • A neighbourhood officer in each neighbourhood
  • Support of the elected members in their community leadership role
  • Responsive problem solving
  • Area-based strategic management and planning

Visit the downloads section for a neighbourhood working brief, map and contacts.

What are Neighbourhood Forums?

Neighbourhood Forums are open public meetings for all local residents, community organisations and businesses, chaired by a local ward councillor. They are an important part of neighbourhood working in Derby.

Every electoral ward in Derby has at least one Neighbourhood Forum held at a local venue every two or three months. The forum is your opportunity to find out what’s happening in your neighbourhood - the problems and the successes - and to discuss the big issues and priorities. You’ll have the chance to talk to your councillors, local police and other providers of services and have a say about what your priorities are for your neighbourhood.

Find the date, venue and time of your next Neighbourhood Forum

What is a Neighbourhood Board?

Your Neighbourhood Board is the main leadership group for the neighbourhood. We realise that not everyone wants to get involved - many people just want to know what’s happening and where to go with a problem. However, some people want to get really involved in their neighbourhood as community leaders, working alongside their councillors and local services.

Your Neighbourhood Board leads on behalf of the neighbourhood as a whole. The Board agrees the priorities for the neighbourhood, decides where delegated Council budgets are to be spent, monitors performance, influences decisions that reflect the views of local residents, and decides on the vision for your neighbourhood.

What are Ward Committees?

There is a Ward Committee for each electoral ward and comprises the three Ward Councillors elected for the ward.

The committee authorises the use of the budget delegated by the Council to the Neighbourhood Board.

View agendas and minutes of Ward Committee and Neighbourhood Board meetings 

Find out where you can meet the councillors that represent your ward

Are you interested in joining your local Neighbourhood Board?

Neighbourhood Boards are made up of local councillors, residents and representatives from community organisations and public services.

Board representatives are reviewed each year. Local people who are committed and have a real understanding about their community’s hopes and priorities are encouraged to join their Board.  

If you are interested in joining your local board or your community group is interested in nominating a representative, download, fill in and return a Neighbourhood Board membership application form or contact us.

How can I apply for Neighbourhood Board funding?

Community organisations can apply for funding from their local Neighbourhood Board to support the board to address local priorities.

Contact us if your group is interested in finding out more and receiving an application form.

Neighbourhood Managers by Ward - as at April 2013

WardManagerTelephoneEmail
Abbey Sarah Dosunmu 01332 643041 sarah.dosunmu@derby.gov.uk
Allestree Zoe Nettleship 01332 641586

zoe.nettleship@derby.gov.uk

Alvaston Imke Goalby 01332 643042 Imke.goalby@derby.gov.uk
Arboretum Sarah Dosunmu 01332 643041 sarah.dosunmu@derby.gov.uk
Blagreaves Sarah Dosunmu 01332 643041 sarah.dosunmu@derby.gov.uk
Boulton Imke Goalby

01332 643042

imke.goalby@derby.gov.uk

Chaddesden Richard Smail 01332 643045 richard.smail@derby.gov.uk
Chellaston & Shelton Lock Imke Goalby 01332 643042 Imke.goalby@derby.gov.uk
Darley Zoe Nettleship 01332 641586 zoe.nettleship@derby.gov.uk
Derwent Richard Smail

01332 643045

richard.smail@derby.gov.uk
Littleover Sarah Dosunmu 01332 643041 sarah.dosunmu@derby.gov.uk
Mackworth Zoe Nettleship 01332 641586 zoe.nettleship@derby.gov.uk
Mickleover Zoe Nettleship 01332 641586 zoe.nettleship@derby.gov.uk
Normanton Sarah Dosunmu 01332 643041 sarah.dosunmu@derby.gov.uk
Oakwood Richard Smail 01332 643045 Richard.smail@derby.gov.uk
Sinfin and Osmaston Imke Goalby 01332 643042 imke.goalby@derby.gov.uk
Spondon Richard Smail 01332 643045 Richard.smail@derby.gov.uk

Neighbourhood Management Contacts - November 2013

North West Area

Neighbourhood Manager : Zoe Nettleship Telephone: 01332 641586 Email: zoe.nettleship@derby.gov.uk

WardNeighbourhood OfficerTelephoneEmail
Allestree  Jenny Lister 01332 641874 jenny.lister@derby.gov.uk
Darley  Jane Harrison 01332 643050 jane.harrison@derby.gov.uk
Mackworth Ray Gibson 01332 643026 ray.gibson@derby.gov.uk
Mickleover Ray Gibson 01332 643026

ray.gibson@derby.gov.uk-

North East Area

Neighbourhood Manager : Richard Smail Telephone: 01332 643045 Email: Richard.smail@derby.gov.uk

WardNeighbourhood OfficerTelephoneEmail
Chaddesden Adam Hulatt 01332 643059 adam.hulatt@derby.gov.uk
Derwent Jonathan Till 01332 888725 jonathan.till@derbyhomes.org
Oakwood Mandy Douglass/Yasmin Fazil 01332 643061 mandy.douglass@derby.gov.uk
Spondon Mandy Douglass 01332 643061 mandy.douglass@derby.gov.uk

South East Area

Neighbourhood Manager -  Imke Goalby Telephone: 01332 643042 Email: Imke.goalby@derby.gov.uk

WardNeighbourhood OfficerTelephoneEmail
Alvaston* Georgina Fowler (Mat Cover)  01332 641581 georgina.fowler@derby.gov.uk
Boulton Rebecca Hudson 01332 643028

rebecca.hudson@derby.gov.uk

Chellaston & Shelton Lock Georgina Fowler  01332 641581 georgina.fowler@derby.gov.uk
Sinfin Sharon Booth 01332 643032 sharon.booth@derby.gov.uk 

*Anjela Mapp on Maternity Leave

Central West Area

Neighbourhood Manager: Sarah Dosunmu Telephone: 01332 643041 Email: sarah.dosunmu@derby.gov.uk

WardNeighbourhood OfficerTelephoneEmail
Abbey Helen Faulconbridge 01332 888693 helen.faulconbridge@derby.gov.uk
Arboretum Jessie Archer 01332 643022 jessie.archer@derby.gov.uk
Blagreaves Lindsey Maidstone 01332 643029 lindsey.maidstone@derby.gov.uk
Littleover Claire Briggs 01332 643019 claire.briggs@derby.gov.uk
Normanton Gary Robinson 01332 643032 gary.robinson@derby.gov.uk

Downloads

Contact details

Email:
Post address: City and Neighbourhood Partnerships
Derby City Council
The Council House
Corporation Street
Derby
DE1 2FS
Minicom: 01332 640666

City and Neighbourhood Partnerships
Derby City Council
The Council House
Corporation Street
Derby
DE1 2FS