Councillors - information and advice

Where do I find information on the councillors that represent my ward?

Find your local councillors and contact details:

Use our postcode search to find the ward you live in.

Find out where you can meet the councillors that represent your ward

Councillors – the basics

  • We have 51 councillors who represent the city's 17 electoral wards. 
  • There are three councillors for each electoral ward.
  • Elections are held three out of every four years: one councillor from each ward goes through an election process over the three years.
  • Councillors are elected to represent residents of their electoral ward, but also have a duty to represent the whole city. 

Following the Local Council Elections 2018 there is no one party with an overall majority of seats. The Conservative group currently hold minority administration, after Councillor Chris Poulter was elected as Leader of the Council and appointed a Cabinet at the Annual General Meeting of the authority on 23 May 2018.

The breakdown of seats is as follows:

  • Labour: 22 seats
  • Conservative: 19 seats
  • Liberal Democrats: 5 seats
  • UKIP: 3 seats
  • Independent: 2 seat

All councillors have to follow a Code of Conduct that they must sign. This makes them accountable to the Standards Committee, which investigates breaches of the Code.

Useful forms

Contact details

Post address:
Democratic Services
Derby City Council
The Council House
Corporation Street
Phone: 01332 643649
Minicom: 01332 640666
Democratic Services
Derby City Council
The Council House
Corporation Street