Election information 2019

2019 Local Election 

At our local elections across the city on 2nd May 2019, you'll need to bring ID if you vote at a polling station. Read more 

There are elections in each of our 17 wards with one councillor being elected in:

  • Abbey
  • Allestree
  • Alvaston
  • Arboretum
  • Blagreaves
  • Boulton
  • Chaddesden
  • Chellaston
  • Darley
  • Derwent
  • Littleover
  • Mackworth
  • Mickleover
  • Normanton
  • Oakwood
  • Sinfin
  • Spondon


Notice Of Election - Local Election 2 May 2019.

Elections Agents Notice - Derby City Local Elections 2019

Statement of Persons Nominated

Notice of Poll

Polling Stations

On polling day Polling Stations will be open across the city from 7.00am until 10.00pm. See your poll card for details of the polling station address for your area. Alternatively, you can search for your nearest polling station by entering your postcode into our poll station finder.

The following changes to our polling stations have been made for the elections on 2nd May 2019.

  • Arboretum Ward (AR3) Polling will take place at The Madeley Centre, Madeley Street DE23 8EX rather than New Life Christian Centre
  • Derwent Ward (DW4) Polling will take place at St Albans Parish Centre, Roe Farm Lane DE21 6ET rather than Revive Healthy Living Centre.
  • Mackworth Ward (MA5) Polling will take place at Rebecca House, Uttoxeter Old Road DE1 1GF rather than Ashgate School.
  • Normanton Ward (NM1) Polling will take place at Derbyshire Tennis Centre, Ashe Place, Vincent Street DE23 8BF rather than St Augustines Community Centre

For more information on polling stations, Voter ID and this election email elections@derby.gov.uk or call the Elections team on 01332 640837.

How can I stand as a candidate at the local elections?

The date for receiving nominations for the local elections on 2nd May has now passed.

However to be able to stand as a candidate in local elections in the city you must meet certain criteria. Further information on standing as a Candidate in Local Elections is available at the electoral commission website or you can contact our electoral services team.

There will be a final briefing session for Candidates and Agents at 6pm on Monday 15th April  in the Council Chamber and will cover voter ID arrangements, campaigning, polling day and count arrangements and expense declaration requirements.

For further information or to book a place contact email the electoral services team on elections@derby.gov.uk

How can I register to vote?

If you are not already registered to vote the quickest and easiest way to register is to go to the GOV website. You will need to have your national insurance number to hand when registering. For the elections on 2nd May the deadline to register is midnight on Friday 12th April.

You can also apply to register by contacting the electoral services team on our helpline 01332 640837. Please have your national insurance number to hand.

How can I vote by post or proxy?

Further details on postal and proxy voting are available on the Guide to Voting section of our website. For the elections on 2nd May the deadline for us to receive completed postal vote applications is 5.00pm on Monday 15th April. The deadline for receipt of proxy applications is 5.00pm Wednesday 24th April.

If you have applied to vote by post or as a postal proxy you will not be able to vote at a polling station.

When will I get my Postal Vote? 

If we receive you application for a postal vote by Monday 1 April you should receive your postal vote by 17th April 2019.

If we receive your application for a postal vote between Tuesday 2nd April and the closing date of 5.00pm on Monday 15th April you should receive your postal vote by 24th April 2019.

Enquiries can be made to the electoral services team on elections@derby.gov.uk or call 01332 640837.

How often do we elect our councillors?

We currently have 51 Councillors representing 17 wards across the city.

There are three seats in each of the 17 wards. One seat in each of the wards is re-elected every year for three successive years out of four.

When are the next Local, and UK Parliamentary Elections?

The next Local Election is scheduled for 2nd May 2019. Polling will be between 7.00am and 10.00pm at polling stations across the city. European elections will now take place in the UK on Thursday 23 May 2019 between 7am and 10pm unless an agreement is approved by Parliament and the EU for our exit by 22 May 2019. The next UK Parliamentary Election must take place on or before 5th May 2022.

European Elections - 23 May 2019

Notice Of Election

European Citizens who are already registered and want to vote in the UK at these elections must complete a European Parliament voter registration form UC1 (GB) that must be returned by latest 7th May 2019

European Citizens not already registered must first register at www.gov.uk/register-to-vote and then complete a UC1 form (link opens in new window) by 7th May 2019.

European Parliament voter registration form UC1 (GB)

Useful forms