Finding support in your community - Local Area Coordination

Finding support in your community

Often when a person feels alone, or in need of support or care, they would like simply to get help from within their own community, Local Area Coordinators work to make things simpler. Based in neighbourhoods across the city, they know the local people – those who need help, and those who can offer different types of help.

Local Area Coordinators don’t provide a formal social care or health service. Instead they ask people "what would make a good life for you?", and help them find how best to lead that life in their local community.

Who can get help from Local Area Coordinators?

Help is offered to adults over the age of 18 or young people leaving care aged 16+. Currently we have Local Area Coordinators working in the Abbey, Alvaston, Arboretum, Boulton, Chaddesden, Darley, Derwent, Mackworth, Normanton and Sinfin wards.

If you are unsure which Ward you live in, you can use the Find your councillor tool which uses your postcode to show the correct Ward.

How can Local Area Coordinators help?

It’s sometimes hard to know where to look when you want support. Our Local Area Coordinators take the time to get to know you, so they can learn what’s important to you. It doesn’t matter if you’re not sure yourself. Our coordinators can help you identify and develop your strengths, skills, talents and abilities and find the solutions that are right for you.

This can involve helping you to:

  • access information, advice and support
  • build your own local network
  • find practical ways to resolve problems
  • be part of your community
  • identify your personal strengths, goals and needs

In this video, we talk to Derek who got involved with us a few years ago; he had previously gone to a day centre for adults with disabilities, which unfortunately closed, leaving him feeling isolated, with little to do throughout the week. He was put in touch with Kathryn, the Local Area Coordinator for Boulton, and decided that he wanted to set up a coffee morning for his community.

Your Local Area Coordination Team

Our Local Area Coordinators do not work City wide, they each cover a particular Ward (otherwise known as a Voting Area). If you are unsure which Ward you live in, you can use the Find your councillor tool which uses your postcode to show the correct Ward.

Neil Woodhead PhotoTeam Manager
Neil Woodhead
01332 642565
neil.woodhead@derby.gov.uk

Daren Palmer PhotoDarley Ward
Daren Palmer
07812 300764
daren.palmer@derby.gov.uk
Darley ward leaflet
Kim Harris photo local area coordinator‌Abbey Ward
Kim Harris
07766 602570
kim.harris@derby.gov.uk
Roger Teague PhotoDerwent Ward
Roger Teague
07812 300755
roger.teague@derby.gov.uk
Derwent ward leaflet
Sarah Edmundson PhotoAlvaston Ward
Sarah Edmundson - Senior LAC
07812 300759
sarah.edmundson@derby.gov.uk
Kelly Pockett PhotoDerwent Ward
Kelly Pockett
07766 602569
kelly.pockett@derby.gov.uk
Simran Sandhu PhotoAlvaston Ward
Simran Sandhu
07812 301046
simran.sandhu@derby.gov.uk
Alvaston ward leaflet
Sally Robertson PhotoMackworth Ward
Sally Robertson
07812 300105
sally.robertson@derby.gov.uk
Mackworth ward leaflet
Rajeev Nath PhotoArboretum Ward
Rajeev Nath
07812 301045
rajeev.nath@derby.gov.uk
Arboretum ward leaflet
Bec Haynes PhotoNormanton Ward
Bec Haynes
07812 300750
rebecca.haynes@derby.gov.uk
Normanton ward leaflet

Marissa Jefford PhotoArboretum Ward
Marissa Jefford
07766 602619
marissa.jefford@derby.gov.uk

Kirsty Bentham PhotoSinfin Ward
Kirsty Bentham
07812 300158
kirsty.bentham@derby.gov.uk
Sinfin ward leaflet
Kathryn Humpston PhotoBoulton Ward
Kathryn Humpston
07812 301685
kathryn.humpston@derby.gov.uk
Boulton ward leaflet
Cheryl Ward PhotoSinfin Ward
Cheryl Ward
07766 602565
cheryl.ward@derby.gov.uk
Donna Brady PhotoChaddesden Ward
Donna Brady
07812 300126
donna.brady@derby.gov.uk
Chaddesden ward leaflet
 

Downloads

Contact details

Email:
Post address:
Adult social care
People Services
Derby City Council
The Council House
Corporation Street
Derby
DE1 2FS
Phone: 01332 642565
Minicom: 01332 640666
Adults Health and Housing
Derby City Council
The Council House
Corporation Street
Derby
DE1 2FS